This is the "Books & Articles" page of the "Sciences Library Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sciences Library Guide   Tags: help, research, science  

The Sciences Library Guide contains links to a wide variety of science research resources, library and reference materials, database articles, web sites, news links, and information on citation styles.
Last Updated: Jul 25, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.msmc.edu/sciences Print Guide RSS Updates

Books & Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

  Search the collection


Search for library books, DVDs, etc.

Click here for the newest science arrivals at the Library!

The  Library of Congress  classification section for  sciences are Q, R, S, and T. Also note:

Analytical chemistry
Biology
Botany  
Chemical analysis
Chemistry
Developmental biology  
Genetics  
Microbiology  
Organic chemistry  
Physical chemistry  
 

Peer-reviewed open access content

Knowledge Project 
A reliabe, open-access library of peer-reviewed educational science content.

Assignment assistance

Find Articles Using Databases

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) Medical
The definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals, CINAHL Complete delivers fast and easy access to top nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons. Contains full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL.

Google Sky 
Application provides easy access to locate positions of planets and constellations in the sky.

GREEN File
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records.

JSTOR Arts and Sciences I Collection
This database contains full-text and full-image of core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also contains titles in ecology, mathematics, and statistics.

JSTOR Plant Science 
Content and tools in the plant sciences created in collaboration with over 220 of the leading herbaria in the world.

MathSciNet
Database of reviews, abstracts, and bibliographic information for the mathematical sciences literature. Continues the print publication, Mathematical Reviews.

ProQuest Computing
An excellent resource for computing topic, including software, hardware, e-commerce, web site development, intranets and extranets, systems design, databases, and technology management.

PubMed Medical + more
The NCBI provides free, online access to biomedical and biological research publications and data, including PubMed, a database of over 15 million biomedical abstracts, many of which link to free full text.

Science Direct 
Science Direct is a scientific database that offers journal articles and book chapters for more than 2500 peer reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. It offers leading research in physical, life, health, and social sciences. In addition, topics on engineering and the humanities are also included. Instructions on searching are available here, as is a tutorial on how to search Science Direct. Full-test articles can be requested at no cost to students and faculty via a pay-per-view service provided by the Library.

Science Journals (ProQuest)
Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation.

SciFinder (on-campus use only)
SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows students and faculty to access a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, among other science based disciplines.The directions to attaining a username and password for SciFinder can be foundhere. In order to activate an account with SciFinder, you need an active MSMC email account. If you do not have one, please follow the directions on this link. Once you have an MSMC email account, create a new user account for Scifinderhere.

Wiley Pay-Per-View Article Search
An agreement with the vendor allows students and faculty to search for full-text articles and a prepaid account provides access.

Wilson OmniFile FullText Select (Ebsco)
Full-text articles in business, science, technology, education, health, art, broadcasting, and engineering. Information on searching this database can be found here.

 

Ask A Librarian

Profile Image
Tiffany Davis
Contact Info
(845) 569 -3351
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip