BusinessNursing
This is the "Welcome to Online Learning" page of the "Online Learning Library Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Online Learning Library Guide  

.
Last Updated: Mar 10, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.msmc.edu/onlinelearning Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome to Online Learning Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact the Office of Online Learning

What You Need to Know About Campus Closings and Delays

 Sign up now for MSMC Alert to be automatically notified of campus-wide closings or other emergencies.  Follow the link to register online to receive text, email, and phone notifications that may affect you.

Should severe inclement weater or other conditions make it necessary for the administration to suspend classes and office work on a scheduled school day, such notifications will usually be made over local radio stations commencing at approximately 6:00 a.m. or soon thereafter.  Do not call the college switchboard or college personnel.

Class cancellations or delays as determined by the professor will be listed on the MSMC portal. 

 

Online Learning at the Mount

Mount Saint Mary College promotes the application of online learning technologies in hundreds of courses offered to undergraduate students every year, from enhancing traditional classroom instruction to enabling the delivery of teaching online in lieu of on-campus class meetings.  The college views distance learning as an extremely valuable format to supplement classroom learning and to strengthen learner engagement and collaboration in all traditional undergraduate programs.  For graduate and adult undergraduate programs, online learning also provides the opportunity to increase access for student populations that otherwise would not be able to participate in and benefit from the College's higher education programs due to the constraints of family, work and distance.

This Library Guide serves as a resource for the distance learner to enrich his or her studies.  This guide will direct you to the online library resources that are available, as well as provide outside links and suggestions for conducting further research.  On these pages you will also find helpful links to writing and formatting your research papers, access to a librarian for individual help, and links to other resources available to students. 

The Office of Online Learning offers a variety of resources and supports for both faculty and students engaged in online learning and teaching.  These include tutorials, training and workshop sessions, eClass and WebEx support, and individual assistance.  For more information about the Office of Online Learning, please visit their home page at http://www.msmc.edu/Academics/online_learning.  

 

Library Services

Curtin Memorial Library

The Curtin Memorial Library is the center of information and research at Mount Saint Mary College.  Located in Aquinas Hall, the library plays an integral role in the academic experience of every student.

The library collection includes nearly 100,000 books, close to 8,000 videos, CDs, and DVDs, and 244 current journal subscriptions.  In addition, the library web page http://library.msmc.edu/ provides access to an extensive array of electronic resources including over 80 online research databases, more than 7,500 e-books, as well as over 25,000 full-text journals and magazines.  The library website also serves as a portal to many library services, including the online library catalog, electronic reserves, online interlibrary loan requests, and reference assistance.

There are more than 60 computer workstations in the library, located on three levels, as well as space for group work and quiet study.  Librarians teach information literacy skills to students through a program of course-integrated instruction, individual assistance at the Reference Desk, and in-depth, one-on-one consultations.

Curriculum Library and Design Center

A branch of Curtin Memorial Library is called the Curriculum Library and Design Center, located in the lower level of Hudson Hall.  It provides resources and services to support professional education and related programs at the College, as well as tools for conducting research.  The emphasis is on practical materials, which can be used for curriculum planning, preparation of lessons, teaching of lessons, and assessment of pupils.  The Design Center in the Curriculum Library provides access to 10 multimedia workstations, allowing students to do research as well as utilize a variety of educational software applications.  The Curriculum Library also offers a vast array of resources on their website, whcih can be found on the Curriculum Library Guide at http://libraryguides.msmc.edu/curriculumlibrary  

A valid MSMC ID card is required to borrow materials, access student computers, print or make copies at both libraries.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Derek Sanderson
Logo - Skype
Contact Info
Mount Saint Mary College Library
330 Powell Ave.
Newburgh, NY 12550

845-569-3240
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip