Pharmacology resourcesPhysical assessment resources
using PubMedAPA Citation style--help and infoGenerating search termsSearching lingo & strategy
This is the "Books & Articles" page of the "Nursing and Health Library Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing and Health Library Guide   Tags: health, help, nursing, research  

The Nursing and Health Library Guide contains links to a wide variety of nursing and health research resources, library and reference materials, database articles, web sites, news links, and information on APA citation style.
Last Updated: Oct 7, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.msmc.edu/nursing_general Print Guide RSS Updates

Books & Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

  Search the collection


Search for library books, DVDs, etc.

Click here for the newest nursing arrivals at the Library!     

The Library of Congress classification section for nursing, medicine and health is R. Also note:

Dentistry
Geriatrics
Human Anatomy
Microbiology
Nursing
Pediatrics  
Physical Therapy  
Physiology  
Public Health  
Transcultural Nursing
Women's Health

Assignment assistance

Find Articles Using Databases

CINAHL Complete (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
Contains full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL.CINAHL Complete is considered the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Subject coverage includes nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine and consumer health.

Focus Medica Health Animation Collection
Features content from two major multi-media reference works, the Animated Medical and Health Dictionary and the Animated Dictionary of Cardiology. The collection provides an engaging visual research experience. *To search this collection, type your topic into the search field. On the next page, next to Continue searching in, click on the drop-down menu to search this collection.

Health Reference Center Academic
Provides access to full-text peer-reviewed journals and other periodicals on many medical disciplines, with emphasis on nursing and allied health.

Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides access to full-text peer-reviewed journals and other periodicals on many medical disciplines, with emphasis on nursing and allied health.

Medline
Contains over 19 million citations and abstracts covering a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the printed International Nursing Index.

Nursing Center  
Portal to articles from 50 leading nursing journals, as well as clinical resources, drug updates, and career information.

ProQuest Health and Medical Complete
Contains abstracts and selected fulltext articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc.

ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source 
Allows you to search the full-text for over 560 nursing and related publications, with links to cultural competency reports and video training programs.

PubMed
Free, online access to biomedical and biological research publications and data, PubMed is a database of over 22 million biomedical abstracts, many of which link to free full text. Visit the FAQ to learn more.   

Science Direct
Science Direct is a scientific database that offers journal articles and book chapters for more than 2500 peer reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. It offers leading research in physical, life, health, and social sciences. In addition, topics on engineering and the humanities are also included. Instructions on searching are available here, as is a tutorial on how to search Science Direct. Full-test articles can be requested at no cost to students and faculty via a pay-per-view service provided by the Library.

Wiley Pay-Per-View Article Search
An agreement with the vendor allows students and faculty to search for full-text articles and a prepaid account provides access.

Wilson OmniFile FullText Select (Ebsco)
Full-text articles in business, science, technology, education, health, art, broadcasting, and engineering. Information on searching this database can be found here.

Ask A Librarian

Profile Image
Denise A. Garofalo
Contact Info
Systems and Catalog Services Librarian
Kaplan Family Library, Dominican Center, DC134
Send Email
 

Identifying a research article

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip