Generating search termsSearching lingo & strategy
This is the "Books & Articles" page of the "News and Current Events" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

News and Current Events   Tags: help, library, news, research  

The News and Current Events Library Guide contains links to a wide variety of news research resources, library and reference materials, database articles, web sites, news links, and information on citation styles.
Last Updated: Aug 18, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.msmc.edu/news Print Guide RSS Updates

Books & Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

  Search the collection


Search for library books, DVDs, etc.:

The Libray of Congress classification section for newspapers is AN and journalism is PN. Also note:

Journalism
Newspaper publishing
Photojournalism
Press
Reporters and reporting

Assignment assistance

Find Articles Using Databases

Barron's
A weekly publication oriented toward investors, providing in-depth articles on companies, industries, and finance and economic trends. Full-text coverage from 1988 to present. 

Chicago Tribune
Full-text coverage from 1985 to present. 

CQ Researcher/Global Researcher
A research tool in American government, international affairs, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.  

Infotrac Newstand
Provides access to more than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world.

Los Angeles Times
Full-text coverage from 1985 to present.  

Maggwire
Contains the latest news from over 10,000 magazines like Forbes, Men's Health, and Fortune. An archive or back issues may not be available.  

National Newspaper Index (Gale - NOVEL)
Provides access to the indexing of The New York Times (Late and National Editions); The Wall Street Journal (Eastern and Western Editions); The Christian Science Monitor (National Edition); The Washington Post (Final Edition); The Los Angeles Times (Home Edition); The New York Times Book Review; and, The New York Times Magazine.

New York State Newspapers
Includes 28 full-text newspapers in New York State including the New York Times and the New York Post.   

New York Times
Full-text coverage from 1980 to present.  

New York Times Historical, 1851-2006
Offers full page and article images with searchable full-text back to the first issue. Provides access to every page (including advertising, editorials, obituaries, photos, as well as articles) from every available issue.  

Newspaper Source
Selected full-text for nearly 30 major U.S. and international newspapers, as well as 200+ regional papers. Also includes full-text radio and television news transcripts.

Newsvoyager.com
Comprehensive gateway to newspaper sites all over the world. 

ProQuest Newspapers
Full-text access to 25+ major U.S. newspapers, including the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, USA Today, Washington Post, and Los Angeles Times, plus The Guardian from London. 

Wall Street Journal
The leading financial newspaper in the U.S., with excellent general news reporting. Full-text coverage from 1984 to present.  

Ask A Librarian

Profile Image
Denise A. Garofalo
Contact Info
Systems and Catalog Services Librarian
Kaplan Family Library, Dominican Center, DC134
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip