Pathophysiology resourcesTEDMED
Collaboration toolsGenerating search termsSearching lingo & strategy
This is the "Books & Articles" page of the "Medicine Library Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Medicine Library Guide   Tags: biology, health, help, medicine, nursing, research, science  

The Medicine Library Guide contains links to a wide variety of medical research resources, library and reference materials, database articles, web sites, news links, and information on citation styles.
Last Updated: Aug 20, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.msmc.edu/medicine Print Guide RSS Updates

Books & Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

  Search the collection


Search for library books, DVDs, etc.

Click here for the newest medical and health arrivals at the Library!

The  Library of Congress classification section for  nursing, medicine and health is R. Also note:

Dentistry
Geriatrics
Human Anatomy
Microbiology
Pediatrics  
Physical Therapy  
Physiology  
Public Health  
Women's Health
 

Where's the full text?

You can find full text from any citation or you can  use the Citation Look Up Tool.  You can also search for a journal title.If the journal title is not found, you may order a copy of the article via Illiad interlibrary loan.

Why do some journals show coverage to "1 year ago"?  It is a fairly common practice for scholarly journal publishers to place an "embargo" -- a restriction on access to the full-text of their journal covering a specific time period - on subscriptions to that journal that come through academic database publishers like EBSCO. Generally, such an embargo means that while the databases that index the journal will provide abstracts and citation information, the full-text of the article will not be available to Library users during the embargo period. Embargos usually range from 6 months to 18 months, with 1 year being the most common duration. Note that even if a journal is embargoed, current articles may be obtained via Interlibrary loan.
Where do I find the journals?  If you find a journal article that is not available electronically, our print journals are located throughout the Library, depending on subject. You can locate the call number through the library catalog. If we do not own the journal article in print or in electronic format, you can obtain the article via Interlibrary loan.

Find Articles Using Databases

AccessMedicine 
An online collection of key medical reference texts that provide authoritative and current medical data.

CINAHL Complete (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
Contains full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL.CINAHL Complete is considered the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Subject coverage includes nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine and consumer health.

Focus Medica Health Animation Collection
Features content from two major multi-media reference works, the Animated Medical and Health Dictionary and the Animated Dictionary of Cardiology. The collection provides an engaging visual research experience. *To search this collection, type your topic into the search field. On the next page, next to Continue searching in, click on the drop-down menu to search this collection.

Health Reference Center Academic
Provides access to full-text peer-reviewed journals and other periodicals on many medical disciplines, with emphasis on nursing and allied health.

Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides access to full-text peer-reviewed journals and other periodicals on many medical disciplines, with emphasis on nursing and allied health.

Medline 
Contains over 19 million citations and abstracts covering a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the printed International Nursing Index.

Nursing Center
Portal to articles from 50 leading nursing journals, as well as clinical resources, drug updates, and career information. 

Nursing Resource Guide
A pathfinder to nursing resources including journals available from various Library databases as well as links to informative web sites.

ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health
Allows you to search the full-text for over 560 nursing and related publications.

ProQuest Health and Medical Complete
Contains abstracts and selected fulltext articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc.

PubMed 
Free, online access to biomedical and biological research publications and data, PubMed is a database of over 22 million biomedical abstracts, many of which link to free full text.Visit the FAQ to learn more.

Science Direct
Science Direct is a scientific database that offers journal articles and book chapters for more than 2500 peer reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. It offers leading research in physical, life, health, and social sciences. In addition, topics on engineering and the humanities are also included. Instructions on searching are available here, as is a tutorial on how to search Science Direct. Full-test articles can be requested at no cost to students and faculty via a pay-per-view service provided by the Library.

Wiley Pay-Per-View Article Search
An agreement with the vendor allows students and faculty to search for full-text articles and a prepaid account provides access.

Wilson OmniFile FullText Select (Ebsco)
Full-text articles in business, science, technology, education, health, art, broadcasting, and engineering. Information on searching this database can be found here.

 

New books!

Cover Art
Queen of the Professions - Charles E. McClelland
Call Number: R152 .M35 2014
ISBN: 9781442226302

Ask A Librarian

Profile Image
Denise A. Garofalo
Contact Info
Systems and Catalog Services Librarian
Kaplan Family Library, Dominican Center, DC134
Send Email

Assignment assistance

 

Google Scholar button

Lookup scholarly articles as you browse the web.
This Chrome browser extension adds a button for easy access to Google Scholar from any web page. Click the Scholar button to:
- Find full text on the web or in the library. Select the title of the paper on the page you're reading, and click the Scholar button to find it.
- Transfer your query from web search to Scholar. Press the Scholar button to see top three results; click "full screen" in the lower left of the popup to see them all.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip