Collaboration toolsGenerating search termsSearching lingo & strategy
This is the "Books & Articles" page of the "Mathematics Library Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mathematics Library Guide   Tags: help, math, research  

The Mathematics Library Guide contains links to a wide variety of math research resources, library and reference materials, database articles, web sites, news links, and information on citation styles.
Last Updated: Aug 25, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.msmc.edu/math Print Guide RSS Updates

Books & Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

  Search the collection


Search for library books, DVDs, etc.

Click here for the newest math and technology arrivals at the Library!

The Library of Congress classification section for math is QA. Also note:

Algebra
Analytic geometry
Calculus
Differential equations
Discrete mathematics
Elementary statistics
Foundations of mathematics  
Geometry  
Graph  
History of mathematics  
Pre-calculus  
Probability
 

Where's the full text?

You can find full text from any citation or you can  use the Citation Look Up Tool.  You can also search for a journal title.If the journal title is not found, you may order a copy of the article via Illiad interlibrary loan.

Why do some journals show coverage to "1 year ago"?  It is a fairly common practice for scholarly journal publishers to place an "embargo" -- a restriction on access to the full-text of their journal covering a specific time period - on subscriptions to that journal that come through academic database publishers like EBSCO. Generally, such an embargo means that while the databases that index the journal will provide abstracts and citation information, the full-text of the article will not be available to Library users during the embargo period. Embargos usually range from 6 months to 18 months, with 1 year being the most common duration. Note that even if a journal is embargoed, current articles may be obtained via Interlibrary loan.
Where do I find the journals?  If you find a journal article that is not available electronically, our print journals are located throughout the Library, depending on subject. You can locate the call number through the library catalog. If we do not own the journal article in print or in electronic format, you can obtain the article via Interlibrary loan.

Find Articles Using Databases

Academic Search Complete 
Full text journal coverage for most academic areas of study.

HighWire Press (Stanford University Libraries)
Full-text content of peer-reviewed journals on all subjects.

JSTOR Arts and Sciences I Collection
This database contains full-text and full-image of core journals in mathematics, statistics, and other subject areas.

LISTA (Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts)  
Indexes 600+ journals, plus books, research reports, and proceedings on librarianship, online information retrieval, information management, and other information technology topics.

MathSciNet
Database of reviews, abstracts, and bibliographic information for the mathematical sciences literature. Continues the print publication, Mathematical Reviews.Tutorials on using this database are available here.

ProQuest Central
Articles on all subjects..

Science Direct
Science Direct is a scientific database that offers journal articles and book chapters for more than 2500 peer reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. It offers leading research in physical, life, health, and social sciences. In addition, topics on engineering and the humanities are also included. Instructions on searching are available here, as is a tutorial on how to search Science Direct. Full-test articles can be requested at no cost to students and faculty via a pay-per-view service provided by the Library.

Wiley Pay-Per-View Article Search
An agreement with the vendor allows students and faculty to search for full-text articles and a prepaid account provides access.

Wilson OmniFile FullText Select (Ebsco)
Full-text articles in business, science, technology, education, health, art, broadcasting, and engineering. Information on searching this database can be found here.

Assignment assistance

 

Math class needs a makeover

Ask A Librarian

Profile Image
Denise A. Garofalo
Contact Info
Systems and Catalog Services Librarian
Kaplan Family Library, Dominican Center, DC134
Send Email
 

New books!

Cover Art
Beautiful Geometry - Eli Maor
Call Number: QA447 .M37 2014
ISBN: 9780691150994
Publication Date: 2014

Cover Art
Everyday Calculus - Oscar E. Fernandez
Call Number: QA303.2 .F47 2014
ISBN: 9780691157559

Cover Art
Our Mathematical Universe - Max Tegmark
Call Number: QB981 .T44 2014
ISBN: 9780307599803

Cover Art
The New Math - Christopher J. Phillips
Call Number: QA13 .P49 2015
ISBN: 9780226184968

Cover Art
Deep Thinking - William Byers
Call Number: BF408 .B94 2015
ISBN: 9789814618038

Cover Art
Zombies and Calculus - Colin Adams
Call Number: PS3601.D3698 Z34 2014
ISBN: 9780691161907

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip