Access Medicine infoVideo resourcesResearch apps
Anatomy resourcesCollaboration toolsDictionaries, calculators, and other toolseClass resources for studentsImage resourcesOrganizationsPhysical assessment resourcesTEDMED
Generating search termsSearching lingo & strategyLiterature reviewsCopyright infoHow to do research
This is the "Books & Articles" page of the "Health Sciences Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health Sciences Resources  

Information and resources to support the Health Sciences
Last Updated: Apr 11, 2017 URL: http://libraryguides.msmc.edu/hlth Print Guide RSS Updates

Books & Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

  Search the collection


Search for library books, DVDs, etc.

Click here for the newest health and medical arrivals at the Library!

The Library of Congress classification section for medicine and health is R. Also note:

Geriatrics
Human Anatomy
Mens Health
Microbiology
Pediatrics  
Physical Therapy  
Physicians Assistants
Physiology  
Public Health  
Women's Health
 

Where's the full text?

You can find full text from any citation or you can  use the Citation Look Up Tool.  You can also search for a journal title.If the journal title is not found, you may order a copy of the article via Illiad interlibrary loan.

Why do some journals show coverage to "1 year ago"?  It is a fairly common practice for scholarly journal publishers to place an "embargo" -- a restriction on access to the full-text of their journal for a specific time period -- on subscriptions to that journal that come through academic database publishers. Generally, such an embargo means that while the databases that index the journal will provide abstracts and citation information, the full-text of the article will not be available to Library users during the embargo period, which usually ranges from 6 months to 18 months, with 1 year being the most common duration. Note that even if a journal is embargoed, current articles may be obtained via Interlibrary loan.
Where do I find the journals?  If you find a journal article that is not available electronically, our print journals are located throughout the Library, depending on subject. You can locate the call number through the library catalog. If we do not own the journal article in print or in electronic format, you can obtain the article via Interlibrary loan.

Assignment assistance

Find Articles Using Databases

An online collection of key medical reference texts that provide authoritative and current medical data

 (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Contains full text for more than 1,300 indexed journals indexed, this database is considered the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Subject coverage includes nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative and complementary medicine, and consumer health.

Provides access to full-text peer-reviewed journals and other periodicals on many medical disciplines.
Provides access to full-text peer-reviewed journals and other periodicals on many medical disciplines.
Contains over 19 million citations and abstracts covering a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus. 
Contains abstracts and selected fulltext articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc.
Allows you to search the full-text for over 560 nursing and related publications, with links to cultural competency reports and video training programs.
Full-text, peer-reviewed articles on general, applied, clinical, and theoretical psychology from APA and other journals, most going back to the first issue. These APA training videos will allow you to learn about some of the advanced searching features and techniques for use in all of the APA databases.
Contains a huge percentage of full-text material in psychology and related disciplines. These APA training videos and this APA tip sheet will allow you to learn about some of the advanced searching features and techniques for use in all of the APA databases.
Free, online access to biomedical and biological research publications and data, PubMed is a database of over 22 million biomedical abstracts, many of which link to free full text. Visit the FAQ to learn more.
A scientific database that offers journal articles and book chapters for more than 2500 peer reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. It offers leading research in physical, life, health, and social sciences. In addition, topics on engineering and the humanities are also included. Instructions on searching are available here, as is a tutorial on how to search Science Direct. Full-test articles can be requested at no cost to students and faculty via a pay-per-view service provided by the Library.
An agreement with the vendor allows students and faculty to search for full-text articles and a prepaid account provides access.
Full-text articles in business, science, technology, education, health, art, broadcasting, and engineering. Information on searching this database can be found here.

Ask A Librarian

Profile Image
Denise A. Garofalo
Contact Info
Systems and Catalog Services Librarian
Kaplan Family Library, Dominican Center, DC134
Send Email
 

Journals

Advance for Nurse Practicioners and Physicians Assistants 
A free online journal for nurse practicioners and physicians assistants. You may be asked to register before accessing the free digital edition.

BioMed Central 
Contains 214 open access peer-reviewed journals mostly covering medicine.

Directory of Open Access Journals 
Provides access to open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content (open access journals are journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access).

e-journals.org 
Provides links to the world's e-journals. A subject listing contains journals on topics such as public health and biochemistry.

Free Medical Journals from OMICS Group 
Contains open access peer-reviewed journals.

FreeMedicalJournals.com 
Provides an extensive listing of medical journals that are available free on the Internet. There are more than 900 titles that allow some measure of free access, with most free access limited to issues at least six months old.

Journal TOCs 
The latest tables of contents from thousands of scholarly journals.

PMC 
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S.National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).   

 

Creative Commons

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip