This is the "Books & Articles" page of the "History Library Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History Library Guide  

Last Updated: Oct 21, 2013 URL: http://libraryguides.msmc.edu/history Print Guide RSS Updates

Books & Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

  Search the collection


Search for library books, DVDs, etc.

The Library of Congress classification section for history is C, D, E, F, G. Also note:

United States History 

Civil War see United States History,
Civil War, 1861-1865

American Revolution see United States History Revolution, 1775-1783 

World War I see World War, 1914-1918  

World War II see World War, 1939-1945

    Find Articles Using Databases

America History and Life™ with Full Text (EBSCO)
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present, with selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present. Provides full-text coverage of more than 230 journals and nearly 100 books, and includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO)
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. Provides indexing of historical articles from more than 3,100 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 and access to the full text of more than 380 journals and 140 books.

New York Times Historical, 1851-2008 (ProQuest)
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Provides access to every page (including advertising, editorials, obituaries, photos, as well as articles) from every available issue.

Wilson OmniFile Fulltext Select (Wilson)
Search across all topics or select specific subject areas.

Humanities International Complete (EBSCO)
This database provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world, and includes more than 2,200 journals and 2.8 million records plus unique full-text content.

CQ Researcher
The CQ Researcher is an excellent research tool in American government, international affairs, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.

Science Direct (Elsevier)
Don't let the name fool you! Science Direct is a database that offers journal articles and book chapters for more than 2500 peer reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. Although its focus is on leading research in physical, life, health, and social sciences, it includes content in many other subject disciplines such as engineering and the humanities. Instructions on searching are available here, as is a tutorial on how to search Science Direct. Full-text articles can be requested at no cost to students and faculty via a pay-per-view service provided by the Library.

Wiley Online Library
Considered the broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Full-text articles can be requested at no cost to students and faculty via a pay-per-view service provided by the Library.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

      

    Ask a Librarian

    Profile Image
    Vivian Milczarski
    Contact Info
    845-569-3523
    Send Email
    If I am not available online click the Quick Answer Request on the Library's homepage.:
    Get Help!
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip