Leveled ReadersE-booksCircular/Cyclical BooksMulticultural BooksSearch by Grade or Lexile Level
This is the "Background Information" page of the "Education Library Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Education Library Guide  

Last Updated: Apr 25, 2013 URL: http://libraryguides.msmc.edu/education Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Background Information Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference sources in the Library

There are plenty of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks on the Main Floor of the library that can help you with research in the field of education. Here are a few ideas to get you started.


Cover Art
Special Education: A Reference Book for Policy and Curriculum Development
Call Number: 371.9 S14S 2009
ISBN: 1592372929
This book can also be found in the Curriculum Library's Reference Collection.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Education Law
Call Number: 344.7307 E56R
ISBN: 1412940796
There are two volumes.

Cover Art
Early Childhood Education: An International Encyclopedia
Call Number: 372.2103 E12N
ISBN: 0313331006
Four volumes. Click here for the table of contents.

Cover Art
The Sage Handbook for Research in Education: Engaging Ideas and Enriching Inquiry
Call Number: 370.72 S24C
ISBN: 1412906407
Click here for the table of contents.

Online Reference Sources


  • Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
    Critical reviews and other information about children’s books, multimedia, audiobooks, etc. Contains book jacket images, links to author and illustrator web sites, information on award-winning titles, plus best books lists and all state reading lists. Reading measurement parameters of the Accelerated Reader, Degrees of Reading Power, Lexile, and Reading Counts are provided.
  • Britannica Online
    This is the online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica. It has the Merriam-Webster's Dictionary and Thesaurus along with several other features such as a country atlas, historical timelines, video biographies and much more authoritative reference material. Includes interactive features that allow you to personalize and focus your search, use some open source operations similar to Wikipedia, and other highlights.
  • Open Educational Resources
    Commons for teaching content from around the world that may be used freely, without charge.
  • School Matters
    Information about US Schools.
  • American School Directory

Ask A Librarian

Profile Image
Tiffany O'Leary
Contact Info
(845) 569 -3351
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip