Web Site Links
The Legislative Branch: CongressThe Executive Branch: The PresidentThe Judicial Branch: The Supreme Court
This is the "Background Information" page of the "Law and Government" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law and Government   Tags: government, help, law  

Last Updated: Apr 15, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.msmc.edu/content.php?pid=218726 Print Guide RSS Updates

Background Information Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

  Online Reference Sources

*CREDO Reference A great collection of reference sources 

USA Reference Center and Central Government The U.S. government's official portal offers explanations of abbreviations and acronyms, access to data and statistics, government publications, photos and multimedia, and much more.

GPOAccess Database of public and private laws sanctioned since the 104th Congress.

Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law In addition to simple searching this online dictionry is even broken down into subjects to encourage browsing.

Nolo's Dictionary of Law Defines legal terms in a way that is easy to understand.

Search Google Scholar

 

  Reference sources in the Library

 

For background information you will want to use a Reference Source located in the Reference Collection. You can search a specific collection in the Catalog using the Advanced Search.

To do this go the library home page and click on the words "Advanced Search"

advanced search 


Next, scroll through the Collection Box until you find "Reference"

collection

Type your search terms (keyword terms) into the search box. Tip: you can put quotes around your phrase so that the catolog searches for those words in that exact order.

key terms

Lastly, just click the "submit" button!

For direct links to a couple relevent searches, click the links below:

Law

Business Law

United States Government

Ask A Librarian

Profile Image
Tiffany Davis
Contact Info
(845) 569 -3351
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip