This is the "Books & Articles" page of the "Business Library Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Business Library Guide  

Resources for Business Research
Last Updated: Apr 3, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.msmc.edu/business Print Guide RSS Updates

Books & Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

  Search the collection


Search for library books, DVDs, etc.

Click here for the newest Business arrivals at the Library!

Click here for a list of Business journals in the Library.

The Library of Congress classification section for business is H. Some suggested topics:

International business
Leadership
Management
Marketing
Organizational behavior
 

Research Tip

 

Some economics and business assignments may require multidisciplinary analysis of a situation requiring the use of databases focused on other fields such as politics, international relatons or public policy.

    Find Articles Using Databases

Business Databases 

ABI Inform Global (Proquest)
Scholarly and trade publications from around the world offering in-depth coverage of a wide range of business topics. International and domestic company profiles.
 

ABI Inform Dateline (Proquest)
Local and regional business news, not typically found in national news sources.

ABI/Inform Trade & Industry (Proquest)
The latest news on every major industry from business periodicals and newsletters.

Business Insights: Essentials (Gale - NOVEL)
Brings together company profiles, brand information rankings, investment reports, company histories, industry overviews and information, chronologies, and periodical articles.

Business Source Premier (Ebsco)
Articles from peer-reviewed journals and other business publications.  International and domestic company profiles.

Hoover's Academic
Offers in-depth financial comparisons and analysis as well as the ability to input specific search criteria to generate a customized, highly-targeted list of companies or people.

Hoover's First Research
Provides first-class Industry Intelligence to help easily understand the challenges, opportunities, and operations of more than 600 industry segments. With each Industry Profile, users have access to: industry overviews, finance and regulation, competitive landscape, and products, operations, and many more areas of focus.

Mergent Online
Offers a wealth of textual detail on company financials, descriptions, history, property, subsidiaries officers and directors. Help on searching available here.

Science Direct (Elsevier)
Don't let the name fool you! Science Direct is a scientific database that offers journal articles and book chapters for more than 2,500 peer reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.  Although the focus is on science, the database contains a vast array of information in many other subjects, including business and economics.  Instructions on searching are included here, as is a tutorial on how to search Science Direct.  Full-text articles may be requested at no cost to students and faculty via a pay-per-view service provided by the library.

Wiley Online Library
Considered the broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Full-text articles can be reuqested at no cost to students and faculty via a pay-per-view service provided by the library.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

CBCA Complete (Proquest)
Includes journals, magazines, newpsapers, newsletters, newswires in many subject areas, including business and current events, education, science and medicine, arts, law, academia and lifestyles, all with a Canadian focus, from Canadian Business and Current Affairs database.

 

      

    Ask a Librarian

    Profile Image
    Vivian Milczarski
    Contact Info
    845-569-3523
    Send Email
    If I am not available online click the Quick Answer Request on the Library's homepage.:
    Get Help!
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip