Collaboration toolsGenerating search termsSearching lingo & strategyPlagiarism resourceseClass resources for students
This is the "Books & Articles" page of the "All Subjects" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

All Subjects   Tags: help, library, research  

The All Subjects Library Guide contains links to a wide variety of general research resources, library and reference materials, database articles, web sites, news links, and information on citation styles.
Last Updated: Oct 2, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Books & Articles Print Page

  Search the collection

Search for library books, DVDs, etc. on any subject from this search box:

Assignment assistance


Scholarly articles

What kind of information does a scholarly journal contain?

A scholarly journal publishes articles on original research and commentaries on current development in a specific discipline, or subject field.  

A peer-reviewed journal is a scholarly journal that requires submitted articles to be subjected to a process of critical review by experts on the subject, known as referees, before determining if the articles be accepted for publication.

Note: not every academic or scholarly journal is peer-reviewed.

Be aware: not all articles contained in a refereed journal are peer-reviewed!

As a rule of thumb, editorials, short items, book reviews and letters to the editor are not peer reviewed. Brief commentaries. short communications and conference papers are not peer-reviewed either.



Find Articles Using Databases

Academic One-File
Contains extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.

Academic Search Complete
Full text journal coverage for most academic areas of study.

General One-File
Contains news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

Hospitality, Leisure, and Tourism Collection 
Contains more than 500 industry journals as well as full-text travel guides. 

JSTOR Arts and Sciences I Collection
This database contains full-text and full-image of core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also contains titles in ecology, mathematics, and statistics.

New York Times, Digital
Provides full access to New York Times and International New York Times content, including today's paper, breaking news, multimedia, reviews and opinion, blogs, videos and more. PLEASE NOTEYou must register -- using your MSMC email address -- in order to access the Times.  Find registration instructions and more information on NYT digital content here

ProQuest Central
Articles on all subjects.

Wilson OmniFile FullText Select (Ebsco)
Full-text articles in business, science, technology, education, health, art, broadcasting, and engineering. Information on searching this database can be found here.

Catalog of books and other materials held by libraries worldwide.


New books!

Cover Art
Talk Like TED - Carmine Gallo
Call Number: HF5718.22 .G353 2014
ISBN: 9781250041128

Cover Art
Letters of Note - Shaun Usher (Compiled by)
Call Number: PN6131 .L483 2014
ISBN: 9781452134253


Peer-reviewed vs. popular journal articles

This chart indicates basic differences between peer-reviewed and popular journal articles:

Editorial Features a listing of an editorial board No editorial board listing
Appearance Text with charts and illustrations Glossy with many advertisements
Author Always identified and qualifications cited Often not identified, e.g. staff or freelance reporter
Content Often original findings or theory on specific research; source references always cited Usually informal in nature, without specifying sources
Purpose To enhance the field of research To entertain, inform, express a view, sell a product
Terminology Specialized, assuming prior knowledge Simple, assuming no prior knowledg

Ask A Librarian

Profile Image
Denise A. Garofalo
Contact Info
Systems and Catalog Services Librarian
Kaplan Family Library, Dominican Center, DC134
Send Email

Peer reviewed journalls

Image from University of New England libraries

Are scholarly journal articles peer-reviewed articles?

All peer reviewed journals are types of scholarly journals. Many, although not all, scholarly journals are also peer reviewed before publication..

Peer reviewed journals, also known as refereed journals, are scholarly journals that submit articles to a peer review process before publication.


Loading  Loading...